It’s been a long time…

And I can’t promise that I’ll post more frequently. Okay, I can at least promise not to make it two years between each post.

Time to catch up!

In the past two years:

1) I ended my archives consulting job in Jackson, TN – This ended in June 2012; I moved back to Michigan to be with my fiance (now my husband).  My consulting job was a FABULOUS experience and I enjoyed helping set up an archives from the bottom up. I’ll go into the exact experience at some point in the future.

2) I found a new job in August 2012 at an electronic database and microfilm publisher. My position currently deals with receiving and aggregating content.

3) I spoke at the Midwest Archives Conference in April 2013 on (what else?) finding a job in the archival field. Specifically, I discussed cover letter and resume writing.

4) In June 2013, I got married and later that week, spoke at the Michigan Archival Association annual meeting on MOOCs and other open-source online resources that are of use to archivists. (The benefit of marrying another archivist is that we attend the same conferences and that he’s very understanding of what I do. Love you, dear!)

This year has also promised to be busy: I’m about to start volunteering at a local museum, chairing a session at the Michigan Archival Association annual meeting, beginning coursework in the fall at a community college to refresh my computer skills, and hammering out details for a guest lecture at my undergrad in early 2015.

It’s always exciting times for the Journeyman Archivist; let’s hope it continues for as long as my sleep schedule allows!

Leave a comment